How to Update Existing Images

Updating images is a similar process to Creating new images. In order to update an image the user must be the owner of the image. The ownership of an image can be transferred by the original owner of that image or by a VCL site administrator under Manage Images -> Edit Image info.

Updating a VCL windows image

  1. Select Reservations
  2. Click New Reservation button
  3. Select Imaging Reservation under Reservation type:
  4. Select the image you wish to update from the pull-down menu
  5. select the Now button
  6. click Create Imaging Reservation
  7. If the image you have chosen is preloaded, the wait time will be less than a minute, else you may wait 10-15 minutes while the remote node is being loaded.
  8. click the “Connect” button when it appears.
  9. a one-time password for the administrator account will be displayed; login using Remote Desktop Connection.
  10. You’ll have up to 12 hours to update the image before the reservation expires and the image is automatically captured.
  11. Run windows update if it is a windows image.
  12. Reboots are okay. It usually takes about 3-4 minutes to completely come back to connect via RPC again.
  13. Make any changes, similar to the creation, make sure any changes are reflected for All users i.e. application icons on All users desktop, etc.
  14. When you are done with your changes and ready to save the image, logoff remote machine start->logoff
  15. Go back to the vcl.ncsu.edu site
  16. Select Reservations
  17. Select More Options…
  18. Select End Reservation & Create Image
  19. select Update Existing Image -> submit
  20. In about 20-25 minutes you will receive an email saying it is ready for testing.

Updated images are stored as image versions and must be tested and moved into production. A newly created image (version 0) is always a production image. Only the owner of the image will have access to the multiple image versions.

Moving an updated image to the production state

  1. All updated images will need to be tested before they are made production. Any time after you receive the notice that the image creation process has completed, return to the VCL site.
  2. Select Reservations
  3. Click New Reservation button
  4. Select the image you were working on from the environment menu, the image name will be the same as the original image.
  5. Select timeframe (now). Click Submit
  6. You will be prompted to choose an image version. Select the latest version (which is the one you last created).
  7. Once you are done testing, return to the VCL site
  8. Choose Reservations
  9. Click the Delete Reservation button
  10. Select Make this image production. At this point the updated image will be the production image for all users who have access to your image.

 

If there are any problems with these steps, send an email to VCL help.